November 19, 2015
Kravis Center | West Palm Beach, FL
Kravis Center for the Performing Arts

National Philanthropy Day is a celebration of philanthropy - giving, volunteering and charitable engagement - that highlights the accomplishments, large and small, that philanthropy, and all those involved in the philanthropic process, makes to our society and our world.

National Philanthropy Day® is both an official day and a grassroots movement. Every year, since 1986 when President Ronald Reagan first proclaimed November 15th as National Philanthropy Day®, communities across the globe have celebrated by hosting events to recognize activities of donors, volunteers, foundations, leaders, corporations, and others engaged in philanthropy.

2015 Recipients for National  Philanthropy Day: 

Laurie S. Silvers: Outstanding Philanthropist

Dorothy L. Lappin and Simon Benson Offit: Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation: Outstanding Philanthropic Foundation

Florida Power & Light: Outstanding Philanthropic Organization

Bank of America: Outstanding Corporate Foundation

Theodore M. Johnson and Vivian R. Johnson/Johnson Scholarship Foundation: Lifetime Achievement/President's Award

Click here to view photos from the 2014 luncheon reception
Click here to view photos from the 2014 VIP reception

The Board of Directors is pleased to announce Kris Lidinsky - Scripps Research Institute and PJ Layng - Girl Scouts of Southeast Florida, as our 2015 National Philanthropy Day Co-chairs.  This year, the National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon will celebrate its 30th year of honoring Palm Beach County men and women who are "changing the world with a giving heart.

National Philanthropy Day past honorees

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser

Michael Ainslie

Merrill L. Bank

Dari Bowman

William J. Brooks

William R. Burson

Max Davis

Alexander W. Dreyfoos, Jr.

Jean Feather

Charles and Jean Brown Fischer

Howard L. Guggenheim

Anita J. Hamilton

Susan Keenan

Ann Keresey

Phillip D. Lewis

Pamela McIver

Jane Mitchell

Joyce McLendon

Patty Myura

William Plum

Michele Poole

Dick and Sally Robinson

Tandy Robinson

Cathleen McFarlane Ross

Jean Spence

Dorothy Ann Sullivan

Kathryn Vecellio

Donald E. Warren, M.D.


Outstanding Philanthropist

Leo and Anne Albert                         

Ronald & Kathy Assaf

Peter Blum

Yvonne S. Boice

John J. Brogan

Lawrence J. and Florence A. De George

Countess Henrietta De Hoernle

Lucienne Driskill

George and Wilma Elmore

Celia Lipton Farris

Mary Alice Fortin

Barry and Florence Friedberg

Jerome and Barbara Golden

Roe Green

Richard and Pat Johnson

Linda R. Kaminow

Eugene and Christine Lynn

Robert M. Montgomery, Jr.

Patrick Park

Helen K. Persson

Gary Peters

Lois Pope

Dorothy Rautbord

Deborah and Harry Sargeant III

Charles E. Schmidt

Harold and Patricia Toppel

Mrs. Harold P. Whitmore

Babbette Wolfe


Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation/Organization

American Culinary Federation (ACF)

Church of Bethesda-by-the-Sea (Mission and Outreach Committee)

The Breakers, Palm Beach

Brown Distributing Company, Inc.

Chase Manhattan Private Bank

First Union Foundation for First Union National Bank

The Honda Classic and Children’s Healthcare Charity, Inc.

IBM Boca Raton

International Society of Palm Beach

Jarden Consumer Solutions


Northern Trust Bank of Florida, N.A.

Palm Beach Harley Owners Group

The Palm Beach Post

The Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company of Ft. Lauderdale Palm Beach


Publix Super Markets, Inc.

The George W. Jenkins Foundation

Rotary International

Seacrest Services

Searcy, Denney, Scarola, Barnhart & Shipley, P.A.

Toshiba Business Solutions

U.S. Trust Company of Florida

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.



Outstanding Philanthropic Foundation

Arthur I. and Sydelle Meyer Foundation

Barnett Bank of Palm Beach County Foundation

C. Kenneth and Laura Baxter Foundation

The Samuel J. and Connie M. Frankino Charitable Foundation

The A.D. Henderson Foundation

J. M. Rubin Foundation

The Esther B. O’Keeffe Foundation

The Lattner Family Foundation

The Lost Tree Village Charitable Foundation

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

Office Depot Foundation

Palm Healthcare Foundation

The Picower Foundation

Quantum Foundation

The Sexauer Foundation

The Gertrude E. Skelly Charitable Foundation

Walter and Adi Blum Foundation

Wycliffe Charities Foundation

Outstanding Planned Giving/Legacy Honoree

Dora Bok

Lemuel R. Boulware

George D. Cornell

Kelly Rev. Trust Marj and Pop Kelly

Isabel Collier Read

Lotte French Lewis

Lifetime Achievement/President's Award

John J. Brogan

Alexander W. Dreyfoos

Countess Henrietta de Hoernle

Lansing, Lacy, Hutcheon Group at Merrill Lynch

Helen K. Persson